Gateway Public
email page print page small type large type

The Gateway Learning Center

The Learning Center reflects Gateway’s appreciation for the fact that students learn differently and the school’s commitment to helping a diverse body of students realize their full academic potential. Often described as the academic engine of the school, the Learning Center is available to all students who need additional support. In addition to providing academic support, classes, and case management for students with diagnosed learning issues, the Learning Center provides after school tutoring, classroom accommodations, and consultation for any student experiencing academic difficulty and provides ongoing support to Gateway parents and faculty.

 

Learning Center Services

 

Any student experiencing academic difficulty, whether or not the student has an identified learning disability, may utilize the Learning Center for:

  • After-school tutoring and subject-area tutorials
  • Extended time and an alternative exam environment
  • Collaboration with teachers to get support an accommodations as needed

 

In addition to the services above, students with diagnosed learning issues are eligible to receive:

  • Case management
  • Additional accommodations and modifications requested in learning disability documentation
  • Individual Learning Plans that describe strengths, weaknesses, mandatory accommodations, and other relevant information (teachers can also access these through an online server)
  • Annual meetings to update documentation and revise learning goals
  • Triennial academic and psychological testing

Faculty:

Marlies McCallum
Director of the Learning Center
mmccallum@gatewayhigh.org
415.749.3600 x 3321

John Stassen
9th Grade Learning Specialist
jstassen@gatewayhigh.org

Ellyn Rosenthal
10th Grade Learning Specialist
erosenthal@gatewayhigh.org

Carrie Pike
11th Grade Learning Specialist
cpike@gatewayhigh.org

Elisa Romero
12th Grade Learning Specialist
eromero@gatewayhigh.org

Colleen Roeser
Instructional Aide
croeser@gatewayhigh.org

Andy Wenger
Instructional Aide
awenger@gatewayhigh.org

Nicholas Lake
Instructional Aide
nlake@gatewayhigh.org

Joanne Wells
Tutor Program Coordinator
jwells@gatewayhigh.org


Gateway High School   |   1430 Scott Street   |   San Francisco, CA 94115   |   phone: (415) 749-3600   |   fax: (415) 749-2716   |   contact us
powered by finalsite