Gateway Public
email page print page small type large type

The Gateway Learning Center

The Learning Center reflects Gateway’s appreciation for the fact that students learn differently and the school’s commitment to helping a diverse body of students realize their full academic potential. Often described as the academic engine of the school, the Learning Center is available to all students who need additional support. In addition to providing academic support, classes, and case management for students with diagnosed learning issues, the Learning Center provides after school tutoring, classroom accommodations, and consultation for any student experiencing academic difficulty and provides ongoing support to Gateway parents and faculty.

 

Learning Center Services

 

Any student experiencing academic difficulty, whether or not the student has an identified learning disability, may utilize the Learning Center for:

  • After-school tutoring and subject-area tutorials
  • Extended time and an alternative exam environment
  • Collaboration with teachers to get support an accommodations as needed

 

In addition to the services above, students with diagnosed learning issues are eligible to receive:

  • Case management
  • Additional accommodations and modifications requested in learning disability documentation
  • Individual Learning Plans that describe strengths, weaknesses, mandatory accommodations, and other relevant information (teachers can also access these through an online server)
  • Annual meetings to update documentation and revise learning goals
  • Triennial academic and psychological testing

Faculty:

Ericka Castillo

12th Grade Resource Specialist

ecastillo@gatewayhigh.org

 

Jeffrey Gilje

Paraprofessional

jgilje@gatewayhigh.org

 

Marlies McCallum

Learning Center Director

mmccallum@gatewayhigh.org

415.749.3600 x. 28


Marisa Pena

9th Grade Resource Specialist

mpena@gatewayhigh.org

 

Colleen Roeser

Paraprofessional

croeser@gatewayhigh.org

 

John Stassen

10th Grade Resource Specialist

jstassen@gatewayhigh.org

 

Joanne Wells

Tutor Program Coordinator

jwells@gatewayhigh.org

 

Andy Wenger

Paraprofessional

awenger@gatewayhigh.org



Gateway High School   |   1430 Scott Street   |   San Francisco, CA 94115   |   phone: (415) 749-3600   |   fax: (415) 749-2716   |   contact us
powered by finalsite